New terrain: cliffs

Discussion among members of the development team.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

zookeeper
WML Wizard

New terrain: cliffs

Post by zookeeper »

I've been building a new terrain type for some time using the graphics of the old canyon (which is now obsolete). The idea is to make a terrain that works just like canyon (non-walkable, but not impassable) that can be used to give height to maps. Currently, maps always look pretty flat. I'm not a good artist and improving these graphics further is starting to approach my limits, so it would be nice if someone more talented would want to finish them. I can probably tune the terrain graphics wml a bit further if needed, but essentially I'm almost finished with these on my part and am just posting these in the hopes that someone else will take over and get them included (and do whatever improvements are necessary for that to happen).

There are a few major problems with this terrain, however:
  • Two actual [terrain]s are needed to draw the cliffs. This is because the cliff wall is always facing one way, which means that in order to be able to determine whether a vertical cliff wall (for example) should be "facing" left or right one needs two terrains, "front" and "back". Front faces south and east, back faces north and west.
  • The terrains don't tile well with themselves. While you can draw walls and make isolated hills/islands, it seems to be essentially impossible to determine where the walls should be facing when one hex has more than 2 neighbours. One would need to assign more letters for cliffs in order to make it possible.