Make art for user-made content.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Forum rules
Before posting critique in this forum, you must read the following thread:
Embuck

Embuck's sprite attempts

Post by Embuck »

Hello, all who enter here.
This is a thread for my feeble first attempts at sprite art, mainly for my under construction campaign. So far I have two sprites, both of the same character, though at different times.
unmasked, later in the story
unmasked, later in the story
gawien-thief.png (3.72 KiB) Viewed 5337 times
the same character masked
the same character masked
gawien-thief-hooded.png (3.58 KiB) Viewed 5337 times
I realize they need work. Any criticism for proceeding about that work is highly appreciated.

P.S. They're based off the elvish hunter sprite from IftU.
P.P.S. I do plan to enlarge the masked head; I'm just not sure how.
Vulpine

Re: Embuck's sprite attempts

Post by Vulpine »

I'm no pixel artists in my own right, but I think you did a fine job there!
I don't know how you would enlarge the head other than by drawing it in yourself :( Maybe you can just add to the current head, expanding the hood and the face up and slightly to the left, moving facial features (eyes) with it. (You'll want to enlarge the mask too.)
One foot in my mouth, and one in the grave; that's the way I like it, and that's the way it'll stay.
[shameless_advertising]
Also the author of Elvish Incursion, a short little prologue.
[/shameless_advertising]
Vyncyn
Forum Regular

Post by Vyncyn »

If you aren't sure how to draw a bigger hood you could just copy from the mainline units. Some of the mages and outlaws have good ones; They just need to be recoloured.
Embuck

Post by Embuck »