A unit moves over another unit in a case on 1.11.17

Having trouble with the game? Report issues and get help here. Read this first!

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Forum rules
Before reporting issues in this section, you must read the following topic:
Post Reply
User avatar
SkyOne
Posts: 1310
Joined: January 3rd, 2009, 7:23 pm

A unit moves over another unit in a case on 1.11.17

Post by SkyOne »

Hello,

I have been test-running own on 1.11.17.

In this case:

Code: Select all

    [unstore_unit]
        variable=kiri_stored
        x,y=36,18
    [/unstore_unit]
    {CLEAR_VARIABLE kiri_stored}

    [store_unit]
        [filter]
            id=Veryn
        [/filter]
        variable=temp_veryn
    [/store_unit]
    {MOVE_UNIT id=Kiri $temp_veryn.x $temp_veryn.y}
The unit, id=Kiri, is supposed to move on the next hex (or the possible closest hex) of the unit, id=Veryn, but the unit, id=Kiri, moves over (on the same hex of) the unit, id=Veryn, on 1.11.17, and the Veryn unit disappears on the map. I run the save-file on 1.11.16 after the issue found, but it was fine on it. So I think it is a bug on 1.11.17. I will appreciate if someone takes a look at the part.


thanks
best regards
Fate of a Princess/feedback thread: "What is in own heart that is the most important, not who you are."
Drake Campaign: Brave Wings/feedback thread, Naga Campaign: Return of the Monster, Saurian Campaign: Across the Ocean
Northern Forces - now on 1.12 server
gfgtdf
Developer
Posts: 1432
Joined: February 10th, 2013, 2:25 pm

Re: A unit moves over another unit in a case on 1.11.17

Post by gfgtdf »

could you try to revert this commit locally (change the code in data/lua/wml-tags.lua on your pc? Changes teh green lines into the red lines):
https://github.com/wesnoth/wesnoth/comm ... 18b43cR692
and see whether the problem persists ?
Scenario with Robots SP scenario (1.11/1.12), allows you to build your units with components, PYR No preperation turn 1.12 mp-mod that allows you to select your units immideately after the game begins.
User avatar
iceiceice
Posts: 1056
Joined: August 23rd, 2013, 2:10 am

Re: A unit moves over another unit in a case on 1.11.17

Post by iceiceice »

Thanks for report, proposed fix is here:

https://github.com/wesnoth/wesnoth/pull/299
User avatar
iceiceice
Posts: 1056
Joined: August 23rd, 2013, 2:10 am

Re: A unit moves over another unit in a case on 1.11.17

Post by iceiceice »

The above fix was tested and merged.

If you want a "hotfix" before the next release occurs, you can modify the one line of lua in data/lua/wml-tags.lua as illustrated here:
https://github.com/cbeck88/wesnoth/comm ... 22baf87372

Thanks again for reporting.
User avatar
SkyOne
Posts: 1310
Joined: January 3rd, 2009, 7:23 pm

Re: A unit moves over another unit in a case on 1.11.17

Post by SkyOne »

Thank you for responding quickly and fixing the issue. :)

And I appreciate posting the fixed code. It removed the issue on mine (to be honest, it had been slightly annoying to keep switching BfW version 1.11.17 & 1.11.6 for testing owns on 1.11.17). Now I can smoothly move on.

For people who are willing for testing BfW 1.11.17 without this issue:
wml-tags.lua
(41.38 KiB) Downloaded 237 times
Fate of a Princess/feedback thread: "What is in own heart that is the most important, not who you are."
Drake Campaign: Brave Wings/feedback thread, Naga Campaign: Return of the Monster, Saurian Campaign: Across the Ocean
Northern Forces - now on 1.12 server
Post Reply