C++ Books

Discussion of all aspects of the game engine, including development of new and existing features.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Skizac

C++ Books

Post by Skizac »

Can anyone recommend some good, up-to-date C++ books which cover the Wesnothian coding style? The C++ books that I have are from my college days (I'm 27 now), and I think they're a bit out of date:

C++ How To Program, 2nd edition (Deitel & Deitel)
The C++ Programming Language, 3rd edition (Bjarne Stroustrup)

I started coding some of the simpler feature requests last night, and I was suprised at how clueless I was. I must be rustier than I thought.
Dave
Founding Developer

Re: C++ Books

Post by Dave »

Skizac wrote:The C++ Programming Language, 3rd edition (Bjarne Stroustrup)
This is the best C++ book around if you can understand it. It's hard to get into though, and many people need a gentler text.

David
“At Gambling, the deadly sin is to mistake bad play for bad luck.” -- Ian Fleming
torangan
Retired Developer

Re: C++ Books

Post by torangan »

Skizac wrote:The C++ Programming Language, 3rd edition (Bjarne Stroustrup)
I never liked that one at all. While it does contain the answers to most questions it's badly organized. A reference book should be easily accessible. A book I can recommend is: "C++ - The Complete Reference" by Herbert Schildt. This one should allow you to lookup the features used in Wesnoth (which are not really advanced btw) without searching for a long time.
WesCamp-i18n - Translations for User Campaigns:
http://www.wesnoth.org/wiki/WesCamp

Translators for all languages required: contact me. No geek skills required!
Scys

Post by Scys »

I learnt C++ from Stanley Lippman's C++ Primer (2nd edition). I found it really useful but haven't liked any of the later editions.
I have this one, and if I was starting out now this is the one I would use: "Object Oriented Programming in C++" N. Josuttis